The BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award is the main award of the BBC Sports Personality of the Year ceremony, and takes place each December.  It was created by Paul Fox, who thought of the idea while he was editor of the magazine show Sportsview.

This year, Gary Lineker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan presented the show – in its 65th year – live from Birmingham’s Genting Arena on Sunday, 16 December. The British public chooses their annual sporting hero.

Interesting facts:

  • The first awards took place in 1954 as part of Sportsview, and was presented by Peter Dimmock.
  • Since the award ceremony began only on one occasion (2013) have none of the podium placers been English.
  • Princess Anne (1971) and her daughter Zara Phillips (2006) are the only award-winners to be members of the same family.
  • Four people have won the award more than once: tennis player Andy Murray is the only person to have won three times (in addition to the Young Sports Personality and Team awards), while boxer Henry Cooper and Formula One drivers Nigel Mansell and Damon Hill have each won twice.
The last 5 years, the winners have been:

2014 – Lewis Hamilton (ENG) Formula One
2015 – Andy Murray (SCO) Tennis
2016 – Andy Murray (SCO) Tennis
2017 – Mo Farah (ENG) Athletics
2018 – Geraint Thomas (WAL) Cycling



Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

Thank you! Please check your inbox to confirm sign up!